altProfessor Sunday Enessi Ododo of the University of Maiduguri has emerged President of the Society of Nigeria Theatre Artists (SONTA), the umbrella body of Theatre Arts lecturers in Departments of Theatre/Drama/Cultural/Performing Arts in Nigerian Universities.

Professor Ododo, who was elected at the just concluded 26th Annual Conference/General Meeting, hosted by Benue State University, Makurdi, succeeds Professor Emma Dandaura of Nasarawa State Universaltity, Keffi.

The election, which took place at the Arts Theatre Complex of BSU, was conducted by an Electoral Committee, chaired by Professor Chris Ugolo of the University of Benin, producing Professor Alex Asigbo (UNIZIK) as the 1st Vice President; Dr. Tor Iorapuu (UNIJOS) as 2nd Vice President; Professor Sam Kafewo (ABU, Zaria) and Dr. Gowon Ama Doki (BSU) re-elected as Secretary-General and Assistant Secretary-General, respectively.

altOthers members of the newly constituted EXCO are Dr. Suru Damisa (Nasarawa State University), Financial Secretary; Dr. Mariam Asabe (AAU, Ekpoma), Treasurer; Dr. Dennis Ameh Akor (Osun State University), Editor of SONTA Journal; Dr. Rasheed Adeoye (UNILORIN), Events Manager; while Mr. Sylvanus Dangoji (ABU) retained the post of PRO.



Nwagbo Pat Obi
Corporate Affairs