The Executive Secretary, National Institute for Cultural Orientation (NICO), Associate Professor Barclays Foubiri Ayakoroma, has emerged as the new Editor of the Society of Nigeria Theatre Artists (SONTA), an umbrella body of all Nigerian theatre scholars and practitioners.

The election, which took place during the Annual General Meeting (AGM), held at the Ebitimi Banigo Hall, University of Port Harcourt, Rivers State, on Wednesday, 1st November, 2017, as part of activities marking the 30th Annual Convention and International Conference and the 35th Anniversary of the Association’s existence.

Ayakoroma was elected, as SONTA Editor, with nine (9) other SONTA Executive Council Members; and Professor Alex Chinwuba Asigbo of the Department of Theatre Arts, Nnamdi Azikiwe University (UNIZIK), Awka, Anambra State, emerged the new President.

The election, which was conducted under a very conducive atmosphere by Prof. Austin Asagba (UNIBEN) and Prof. Tracie Utoh-Ezeajugh (UNIZIK), as the electoral committee charged with the responsibility of conducting a free, fair and credible election for the Society, started with accreditation of financially up-to-date members, after which voting commenced.

Other members of the new SONTA executive include Prof. Gowon Ama Doki of Benue Strate University, Makurdi and Professor Ameh Akoh of Federal University Ndufu Alike-Ikwo (FUNAI), Ebonyi State, as the two Vice Presidents; Dr. Jonathan Mbachaga of Federal University, Oye-Ekiti (FUOYE), as the Secretary-General; Dr. Chisimdi Udoka Ihentuge of Alvan Ikoku College of Education, Owerri, as the Assistant Secretary-General; Dr. Tunji Azeez of the Lagos State University (LASU), as Financial Secretary; Tosin Kooshima Tume of Federal University, Oye-Ekiti (FUOYE) Ekiti State, as Treasurer; Dr. Josephine Abbe of University of Benin (UNIBEN), as Event Manager; and Dr. Tayo Arinde of University of Ilorin (UNILORIN), as the PRO.

It would be recalled that the previous election was conducted in 2013 at Benue State University, Makurdi, and that election enthroned Prof. Sunday Enessi Ododo of the University of Maiduguri (UNIMAID), as the 8th President of SONTA; just as Prof. Alex Chinwuba Asigbo of Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka (UNIZIK), is assuming office as the 9th President of the Society.

Njideka Dimgba

Corporate Affairs Unit