altThe Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA), Bayelsa State chapter, at its monthly meeting at its Secretariat along Ebis Hotel Road, Biogbolo-Yenagboa, has elected new officers to run its affairs for the next two years.

Announcing the results, the Electoral Committee Chairman, Mr. Okutuate Benson Ayah, who also later inaugurated the new EXCO, said Engr. Emmanuel Frank-Opigo polled 21 votes for the position of Chairman to defeat Dr. Akpos Adesi, who polled 7 votes.

In his acceptance speech, Frank-Opigo promised that his EXCO will come out with a one-year action plan to reposition the chapter, and called on members to give them the necessary support.

He said Bayelsa, and indeed the Ijaw nation, has been blessed with many talented and promising writers, noting that the immediate past chairman, Ebinyo Ogbowei has again made the short-list of the 2013 NLNG Prize for Litereture, which goes to show that once the enabling atmosphere is created for young writers, more talents would be discovered.

altElder Statesman, Chief SMO Ambakederemo, the Executive Secretary of National Institute for Cultural Orientation (NICO), Dr. Barclays Foubiri Ayakoroma, a former ANA Bayelsa Chairman, Chief Lambert Ototo, as well as Ebinyo Ogbowei and Dr. Akpos Adesi, among others, all pledged to give the new EXCO the necessary support to move the chapter forward, and advised the young members to be dedicated to the vision and mission of the association.

Other members of the newly-inaugurated EXCO include Dr. Christine Odi (Vice-Chairman), Mr. Timitimi Akimua (Secretary-General), Mr. Franklin Olomu (Asst. Secretary) Miss Stella Toruemi (Treasurer), Mr. Egbenpere Ebipreye (Financial Secretary), Mr. Laye Julius (PRO), and Barr. Murphy Biriabebe (Legal Adviser).

(C) Nico news