rochasImo State Governor, Owelle Rochas Okorocha and Senator Margery Okadigbo, are among dignitaries expected to grace the 2014 award ceremony of Igbo-Amaka, an award designed to reward and recognise the exploits of sons and daughters of Ndigbo, which holds on June 26, at the International Trade Fair Complex, Ojo, Lagos.

Speaking on the modalities for the event, a Member of the Organising Committee, Barr. Obi Nwachukwu, said it would feature side attractions such as cultural dance displays and other forms of entertainment.

According to Nwachukwu, other dignitaries expected include Chairman of the Award Advisory Board (AAB), Professor Eddie Floyd Igbo of the University of Abuja, Chidi Anyaegbu, Chairman of Chisco Group, and the Deputy National President of Oha Na Eze Ndigbo, Sir OAU Onyema.

He also disclosed that those billed to receive awards are the President of Auto Spare Parts & Machinery Dealers Association (ASPAMDA), Lagos, Dr. Anthony Ughagwu and the 13 founding fathers of Alaba International Market, Ojo, Lagos.

In the past, the platform has honoured the likes of Anambra State ex-governor, Chief Peter Obi, Pete Edochie and Chioma Ajunwa among others.

Barr. Nwachukwu also disclosed that while Ughagwu will receive the Business Excellence Award for his transparency and painstaking efforts in managing ASPAMDA, the 13 Founding Fathers of Alaba International Market (in Lagos) will be honoured with Special All-time Awards In Commerce. Post humours awards would also be given to late founding fathers of the market.

Culled from: