IMG 20170922 WA0041History was made, Friday, 15th September, 2017, as theatre practitioners drawn from various parts of Nigeria converged at the popular events centre, Planet One, Maryland, Lagos, to witness the investiture of some of the best and brightest in Nigeria’s entertainment industry, as Fellows of Theatre Arts (fta), and their induction into the Body of Fellows of the National Association of Nigerian Theatre Arts Practitioners (NANTAP).

The Body of Fellows is the highest advisory body of NANTAP and members of this prestigious body are inducted strictly in recognition of their distinct works, outstanding contributions to theatre development, and meritorious service to Nigeria.

Dr. Barclays Foubiri Ayakoroma, the Executive Secretary/CEO, National Institute for Cultural Orientation (NICO), Thespian, playwright, editor, prolific author, and Visiting Associate Professor at the Department of Theatre and Cultural Studies, Nasarawa State University, Keffi (NSUK), was one of the proud recipients of the award at the August occasion, as he was conferred with the Fellow Theatre Arts (FTA), and later inducted into this elite Body of Fellows of NANTAP.

Standing tall and holding his head high on a platform of achievements amongst the Colossus of Nigerian entertainment like Chief Chika Okpala, MFR, MON (aka Chief Zebrudaya, alias 4.30 of New Masquerade), Otunba Adebayo Salami (popularly called Oga Bello), Usman Baba Pategi (aka Samanja), to mention but a few, the citation on Dr. Ayakoroma depicted a man who has worked hard enough and deserves to dine on same table with kings.

Earlier, in his welcome address, the Interim President of NANTAP, Thespian Israel Eboh, fta, expressed optimism that the establishment of a Body of Fellows (BOF) will not only strengthen the constitutional and administrative structure of a reborn NANTAP, but will also make the wealth of experiences, professional connections and invaluable advices of BOF readily available to the Association.

The list of Fellows of Theatre Arts (fta), which traverses the Nigeria entertainment industry, public service and the academia include: Professor Duro Oni (UniLag), Chairman, Body of Fellows; Professor Emmanuel Emasealu (Uniport); Ben Tomoloju (veteran Arts Journalist); Richard Mofe-Damijo (RMD); Dr. Sola Fosudo (LASU); Fred Amata (veteran Nollywood actor and President of the Directors Guide of Nigeria); and Mr. Francis Onwochei (veteran Nollywood actor and director), amongst others.

It will be recalled that the NICO ES was nominated for the fellowship of NANTAP as far back as 2013 but had not been formally inducted in fulfilment of one of the statutory requirements that awardees have to be present physically for the conferment and induction.

The Management and Staff of the National Institute for Cultural Orientation (NICO) felicitate with our Boss, Dr. Barclays Foubiri Ayakoroma, fta, over this latest recognition in the area of national development with wishes of more accomplishments and greater recognitions in the near future.

Anthony Okafor & Lanre Arepo                                                             

Corporate Affairs Unit                                                                                                                

NICO Training School