The Honourable Minister of Education, Mallam Adamu Adamu has formally inaugurated a National Technical Committee to develop a National Language Policy for Nigeria.

Inaugurating the committee in Abuja on Tuesday April 10, 2018 at the Rock View Hotel, Mallam Adamu disclosed that the objective of the Language Policy is to create a conducive atmosphere for the preservation of indigenous languages in Nigeria as well as determine the medium through which our children are educated.

On his part, the Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Education, Arc. Sunny Echono who was represented by Dr. Orji, Director of ICT in the Ministry emphasized the need for a language policy for Nigeria, saying the lack of a language policy has greatly compromised our ability to hand over our indigenous languages to our children as a nation.

Professor Harrison Adeniyi, the Chairman of the National Technical Committee while responding, underscored theEdu1 importance of a National Language policy, saying no nation can survive without a National Language policy; as it aids seemless technology transfer.

The National Technical Committee was drawn from language scholars, experts, critical and strategic stakeholders from Nigerian Universities, Federal Ministry of Education, Federal Ministry for Information and Culture, Linguistic Association of Nigeria (LAN), National Institute for Nigerian Languages (NINLAN), National Institute for Cultural Orientation (NICO), Nigerian Educational Research and Development Council (NERDC), French Village and Arabic Village.

Among dignitaries present at the ceremony were: Prof. Jerry Agada, former Minister of State for Education; Prof Harrison Adeniyi, Chairman of the Technical Committee; President, Prof. Amfani, Linguistic Association of Nigeria (LAN) who was represented by Prof. Harrison Adeniyi and Mr.  Louis Eriomala, the Ag.  Executive Secretary NICO.

Six sub-committees were constituted by the National technical committee during its maiden meeting shortly after its inauguration with clearly defined terms of reference. NICO was nominated to function in three of the committees.